CBG Finally finished

After going through a couple of mock cigar box guitar variations for my 4 string I have settled on a final design and style. The cigar box is actually a pressed cardboard/paper material but the bottom and top are wood. The tonation with just one sound hole is nice and better when hooked up to an amp. The pickup Im using though is a piezo design (so its more acoustic) and not magnetic, but I use steel and bronze wound strings so in the future I can use one if I want to. I bought some .42 AWG magnet wire to spin a pickup and once I am done making my pickup jig/rig I will get around with experimenting – the wire ain’t cheap though so I may just end up buying pickups online as I need to.

The nut, made out of Corian (free sample from Home Depot) worked better than I expected and I used a piece of aluminum from a wind-chime for the bridge. The scale of my CBG is 24.5 inches, using an acoustic extra-light set of strings for open G, open D or standard guitar tuning, depending on what I feel like doing. Open G is DGBD, open D for slide playing is DF#AD and standard fret playing is DGBE.

Now onto my next set of projects, a 3 string fretted, 4 string fretless and a cigar box violin/fiddle for one of my boys.

 

One thought on “CBG Finally finished

Leave a Reply

CBG Finally finished

After going through a couple of mock cigar box guitar variations for my 4 string I have settled on a final design and style. The cigar box is actually a pressed cardboard/paper material but the bottom and top are wood. The tonation with just one sound hole is nice and better when hooked up to an amp. The pickup Im using though is a piezo design (so its more acoustic) and not magnetic, but I use steel and bronze wound strings so in the future I can use one if I want to. I bought some .42 AWG magnet wire to spin a pickup and once I am done making my pickup jig/rig I will get around with experimenting – the wire ain’t cheap though so I may just end up buying pickups online as I need to.

The nut, made out of Corian (free sample from Home Depot) worked better than I expected and I used a piece of aluminum from a wind-chime for the bridge. The scale of my CBG is 24.5 inches, using an acoustic extra-light set of strings for open G, open D or standard guitar tuning, depending on what I feel like doing. Open G is DGBD, open D for slide playing is DF#AD and standard fret playing is DGBE.

Now onto my next set of projects, a 3 string fretted, 4 string fretless and a cigar box violin/fiddle for one of my boys.

 

One thought on “CBG Finally finished

Comments are closed.